Timeline For And How To Watch The Lunar Eclipse This Weekend

 

                                                         

Here are the key times for Sunday’s celestial event:

  • 9:36 p.m.  ET / 6:36 p.m. PT: Earth’s penumbral shadow begins to touch the edge of the moon’s disk, but the effect isn’t likely to be perceptible until about 10:10 p.m ET/7:10 p.m PT.
  • 10:33 p.m.  ET / 7:33 p.m. PT: Earth’s dark umbral shadow begins marching across the moon.
  • 11:41 p.m.  ET / 8:41 p.m. PT: Totality begins when Earth’s shadow covers the moon completely. Direct sunlight is blocked, but the refracted light of a million sunsets is bent by Earth’s atmosphere, casting a reddish, brownish or even grayish glow on the darkened disk. This is why some folks call a total lunar eclipse a “blood moon.” 
  • 12:44 a.m ET / 9:44 p.m. PT: Totality ends when Earth’s umbral shadow begins its retreat.
  • 1:51 a.m ET / 10:51 p.m. PT: The moon emerges from Earth’s dark shadow and is dimmed only slightly by the penumbral shadow.
  • 2:48 a.m ET / 11:48 p.m. PT: The moon reverts completely to its regular full phase. The last perceptible hints of the penumbral eclipse are likely to fade from sight about a half-hour earlier than this, at about 11:15 p.m.

You can read more about it on GEEKWIRE

 
Angie Ward

Angie Ward

Want to know more about Angie Ward? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on iHeartRadio! Read more

title

Content Goes Here